Boating Under the Influence in Washington

Boating Under the Influence (RCW 79A.60.040) in Washington State is a gross misdemeanor.  This means that you can be facing up to a year minus a day in jail, and a financial penalty of up to $5000.  There is no automatic driver’s license suspension for a BUI; or for refusal to ‘blow’ for a breathalyzer … Read more

37 New Washington State Patrol Troopers hit the road.

Continuing a tradition that began 95 years ago, with 6 men and their motorcycles, Chief Justice of the Washington State Supreme Court Barbara A. Madsen swore in 37 new Washington State Patrol officers this week.  With over 1,000 hours of training (WSP Academy) training, these men and women will join Washington’s premier law enforcement organization. Only … Read more

The other Red White and Blue

Have you been charged with Assault, DV, or DUI?  Do you want an experienced defense lawyer who knows the court system, is familiar with the different prosecutors and judges, and will really work your case hard? I will work relentlessly to protect your rights.  I care about my clients, and fight hard to prevent the … Read more

Up to $1025 fine for dropping a lit cigarette from your car.

With last summer’s severe fires, and Washington entering a drier season as summer starts (but not today in Seattle!), the Washington State Patrol announced a crackdown on lit cigarettes being littered from vehicles. Normally the limit for a ‘civil infraction’ such as this is $250, but the Washington State Legislature specifically made an exception for dangerous … Read more

A Domestic Violence Charge or Conviction and Your Gun Rights

One of the most overlooked and unfortunate aspects of the criminal justice system in America is that it often doesn’t end at trial. If you end up getting convicted of a domestic violence charge after a trial, or even as a pretrial condition of release, the repercussions don’t even stop at the fines and jail … Read more

Washington’s Mandatory Arrest Law for Domestic Violence

If you have never been arrested before, then the first time is likely to be one of the worst experiences of your life. Feeling the handcuffs click on your wrists and being shoved into the back seat of a police patrol vehicle is an incredibly embarrassing, demeaning and frightening experience, even if no one is obviously … Read more

Self-Defense in Washington – The Basics

One of the only rules you can count on across all of fields of law is that every rule has an exception. One of the rules in the arena of criminal law is that it is almost always illegal to hurt or kill someone. However, even to this rule, there are certain exceptions: In the State … Read more

Washington’s New Law Requiring GPS on Ignition Interlock. RCW 43.43.395(3)(a)(ii).

As stated at: Washington State is the most recent state to consider new laws that will boost the power of ignition interlock devices to prevent deaths due to alcohol-related crashes. House Bill 1276, which has passed in the House and now moves to the Senate, mandates two changes that are designed to bring down … Read more

Under the Legal Limit: Still Under Arrest

All 50 states in the U.S. have made it illegal to drive a car or other vehicle when your blood alcohol content (BAC) is at or above 0.08%. However, it might be a surprise to hear that Washington is one of the states where you can get arrested, charged, and even convicted for Driving Under … Read more